Government and Politics

The 1974 Revolution ousted the monarchy and feudal government led by Emperor Haile Silassie I. In Place a Provisional military dictatorship known as the Derg (committee) was installed. 1984 Mengistu Haile Mariam leader of the Derg established the so called workers Party as the sole legal party in Ethiopia. A new constitution was enacted in 1987. President Mengistu was in turn ousted in 1991 by the two rebel movements, the Ethiopian people’s revolutionary Democratic fronts (EPRDF) and Eritrean people’s front (EPF).

A transitional government was installed by the EPRDF: a coalition party and was led by the Tigraian people’s liberation front chairman Meles Zenawi. Ethiopia adopted a new federal constitution the decentralized many aspects of government. The country is divided into eight regions and three city states with borders divided along Ethino-Lingustic lines. These modern federal regions and city states are the city of Addis Ababa, Afar, Amhara, Benishangul – Gumuz regions, the cities of Dire Dawa and Harari, Gambella, Oromia, Somalia, Southern Nations, Nationalities & people’s state and Tigray Regions.